Early Easter after Paschal Full Moon

Early Easter after Paschal Full Moon

March 27 was the first full moon night and was seen by the eyes of sky lovers at 5:27 a. m. EDT (2:27 a. m. PDT, or 0927 GMT).

It has played an important role for the coming Easter Sunday. March full moon is dubbed as "Worm Moon" as the ground softens and earthworm casts reappear. As it has a link with Easter, it's also known as the Paschal Moon.

After the Paschal Full Moon, Easter is observed on the Sunday. If the Paschal Moon happens on a Sunday, Easter is followed on the next Sunday.

Following these rules, it can be seen that Easter can fall as early as March 22 and as late as April 25 in any year. This year, the Paschal Full Moon has come on March 27 and so considering the current ecclesiastical rules, Easter is to be celebrated on Sunday, March 31.

The pattern also depicts that the vernal equinox is fixed on March 21. According to European longitudes from the years 2008 through 2101, it must not occur later than March 20. Thus, there can be problems in ecclesiastical and astronomical rules. Further, there can be differences in the two. However, even after a lot of confusion, the predictions have usually been right.


FrenchTribune Specials

Amazon launches ‘Echosim.io’ website that puts Alexa inside the browser

Online retail giant Amazon has launched a website called ‘Echosim.io,’ which essentially puts the Amazon Echo smart speaker’s Alexa voice-powered artificial intelligence (AI) software right inside the browser.

The new Echosim.io website launch by Amazon basically underscores a browser-based tool to enable the community to use as well as...

Most Popular

Google announces ‘Daydream’ platform for mobile VR

At its 2016 I/O developer conference on Thursday, tech...

‘Google Home’ marks Google’s foray into voice-activated home device market

At its ongoing 2016 I/O developer conference in Silicon...

Poll

Can Greece Come out of Economic Problems: